Dennis Gates, Charlyn Y. Law Memorial Award Recipient

Mark Gingrich, Jack Matthews Award Recipient

Dr. Jim Spain, Campaign Chair Achievement Award Recipient

Columbia, MO –

Heart of Missouri United Way recently hosted their Annual Awards Presentation on Friday, April 21, 12:00 p.m. at Shelter Insurance Training Center.

Dr. Eryca Neville, Douglass High School Principal and Heart of Missouri United Way Board Chair and Andrew Grabau, Heart of Missouri United Way President and CEO, hosted and emceed the event that celebrated National Volunteer Week, 2022 Award Winners, and Give 5 graduation.

Annual Award Winners:

Coach Dennis Gates, Head Coach of Mizzou Men’s Basketball, received the Charlyn Y. Law Memorial Award for compassion, commitment, and resolve.

This award was established in memory of the former KOMU-TV promotions director who went above and beyond her job responsibilities to work for and promote community efforts. This award is presented to an individual or group in the community who promotes activities and special events that enhance and improve overall quality of life.

Mark Gingrich, Member at Williams Keepers LLC, received the Jack Matthews Award for leadership, dedication, and achievement.

The Jack Matthews Award, established in 1985 and named in honor of the first president of the Columbia Area United Way, is presented to an individual or company who has provided outstanding leadership, dedication and achievement for United Way.

Dr. Jim Spain, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies at the University of Missouri, received the Campaign Chair Achievement Award for dependability, energy, and initiative.

This award is given at the discretion of the Campaign Chair to a person(s), group, or organization who has exceeded reasonable expectations in their efforts to raise funds for United Way.

This award was nominated by Adonica and DeMarko Coleman, who were the 2022 community campaign chairs. They selected Jim because of his devotion and continued support of United Way.