Dr. Candace Kuby, Charlyn Y. Law Memorial Award Recipient

Tami Chievous, Charlyn Y. Law Memorial Award Recipient

Dr. Dee Montgomery, Campaign Chair Achievement Award Recipient

Vicki Russell, Bo Fraser Leadership Award Recipient

Columbia, MO –

Heart of Missouri United Way recently announced the recipients of our Annual Awards. These awards are selected from those who volunteered for the 2023 United Way campaign and were instrumental in its success.

“Last year, the community came together to raise three million dollars for Heart of Missouri United Way and their 29 agencies,” said David Holtgraewe, Chief Operations Officer for Heart of Missouri United Way. “At the end of the year, we like to recognize volunteers that have had a significant impact by advocating, communicating the work of United Way, and helping raise the funds necessary to facilitate lasting change.”

Annual Award Winners:

The recipients of the Charlyn Y. Law Award for the 2023 Campaign are Dr. Candace Kuby, Associate Provost for Faculty Success at the University of Missouri College of Education and Human Development, and Tami Chievous, the Executive Associate Director of Athletics and Academic Services at the University of Missouri Athletics Department.

This award was established in memory of the former KOMU-TV promotions director who went above and beyond her job responsibilities to work for and promote community efforts. This award is presented to an individual or group in the community who promotes activities and special events that enhance and improve overall quality of life.

Dr. Frances “Dee” Montgomery, a retired psychology professor at the University of Missouri S&T and a representative of the University of Missouri Retiree Association on the MU United Way committee, is the recipient of the Campaign Achievement Award for the 2023 Campaign. 

This award is given at the discretion of the Campaign Chair to a person(s), group, or organization who has exceeded reasonable expectations in their efforts to raise funds for United Way.

This award was nominated by Jim Owen, the 2023 Community Campaign Chair. He selected Dr. Montgomery because of her dependability, energy, and initiative.

Vicki Russell and Hank Waters (awarded posthumously) received the 2023 Bo Fraser Leadership Award for their years of support to United Way and their communities. They have served in multiple volunteer roles including the Board of Directors and have been members of the Alexis de Tocqueville Society for more than 20 years.

The Bo Fraser Leadership Award, a recognition bestowed upon individuals who exemplify exceptional leadership and make significant contributions to their community, is presented annually to a member of the Heart of Missouri United Way Alexis de Tocqueville Society.

About the Heart of Missouri United Way:  

United Way fights for the health, education and financial stability of every person in every community. We bring people together from across our community — people from volunteering, government, labor, business, faith groups, nonprofits, and citizens — to tackle the issues that matter most. For more information, visit us at www.uwheartmo.org.