Clayton named 2016-17 United Way Board President

Mitzi Clayton, associate athletics director for Mizzou Athletics, has been appointed 2016-17 president of the board of directors for Heart of Missouri United Way. Clayton’s 12-month term began in April. As board president, Clayton will serve as the principal executive officer and oversee the functions of the board, which guides the organization’s community impact endeavors.

Clayton has been an active board member since 2012. Before joining the board, she chaired the 2009 Mizzou United Way Campaign, which raised $619,000, and received the Jack Mathews Award for her efforts. In 2012, she served as campaign chair for the Heart of Missouri United Way Community Campaign, which raised $3.4 million. She also has served as board vice president and chair of the Community Impact Committee.

“It’s an honor to serve Heart of Missouri United Way as board president,” says Clayton. “This year I’m excited to engage the board to become more aware of the challenges facing our community, recognize our active role in identifying solutions to those issues, and become even more relevant to our community constituents and those served by United Way funded agencies.”

Clayton succeeds 2015-16 board president Dr. Jan Swaney, who will remain on the board for the coming year. Four additional members to join the board in April include Lee Hendrickson, chief financial officer for Providence Bank; Stephen Nagel, general manager at Joe Machens Ford; Dr. Nathan Miller, senior director of Student Success at Columbia College; and Dr. Clyde Ruffin, First Ward councilman.