United Way welcomes new volunteers

2017 Board officers & new members, plus Community Campaign leaders

Heart of Missouri United Way would like to give a warm welcome to its new officers and board members. Nine new members and one new ex-officio member joined the board in May, bringing the total to 31 board members and four ex-officios.

2017-18 Board officers:

  • President: Teresa Magruder, executive vice president for Shelter Insurance

  • Vice President: David Putnam, senior corporate credit manager at First State Community Bank

  • Treasurer: Lee Hendrickson, chief financial officer for Providence Bank

  • Secretary: Erica Pefferman, president of The Business Times Company

New board members (2017-2020 term):

  • Judge Deborah Daniels, associate circuit judge for the 13th Judicial Circuit Court

  • Aimee Davenport, partner at Stinson Leonard Street

  • Stan Gerling, senior vice president at Central Bank of Boone County

  • Greg Grupe, retired Columbia Public schools assistant principal and teacher, current University of Missouri College of Education liaison and instructor, community leader

  • Bob Schaal, executive director for Missouri Orthopedic Institute – University of Missouri Health Care

  • Dale Tidemann, plant manager at 3M 

  • Jessie Yankee, owner of EasyPC IT & Computer Repair

Ex-officio members (2017-18 term):

  • Randy Cole, housing programs supervisor for City of Columbia

  • Steve Hollis, manager of community services at City of Columbia

  • Nikki McGruder, regional manager for Diversity Awareness Partnership

  • Kelly Wallis, director of community services for Boone County

We would also like to give a huge thanks to our departing board members. Mitzi Clayton, associate director of Mizzou Athletics, was the president of the 2016-17 board, and has been a long time United Way volunteer and supporter. 

We also tip our hat to outgoing secretary, Gwen Jones, as well as board members Ed Scavone, executive vice president at Central Bank of Boone County; Jason Becking, owner of Mattress by Appointment; Jane Swaney, community leader and retired physician; and Cameron Dunafon, owner of Dunafon Enterprises Inc. Each of these outstanding individuals devoted six years of board service to United Way.

We are so grateful for the dedicated service of these volunteers. They are a true asset to United Way and the community, and we thank them for all their work as members of our Heart of Missouri United Way Board of Directors.

2017 Community Campaign division & sector chairs

Yes, it’s that time of year again – we’re gearing up for the 2017 Heart of Missouri Community Campaign, which raises funds to benefit United Way’s partner agencies and collaborative community initiatives. While the campaign won’t officially kick off until September, we have dozens of community volunteers from every sector of business already lending their time, talent and expertise to get things ready for this year’s fundraising efforts. We are grateful to these wonderful people, without whom the campaign would not be possible!

2017 Community Campaign Chairs

Bev & Allen Curtis

2017 Community Campaign Vice Chairs

Jim & Lisa Meyer                   

2017 Division & Sector Chairs

Loaned Executives

Division Chairs: Gary Thompson, Teresa Magruder, Matt McCormick
Loaned Executives: Radhia Khenissi, Brette Boley, Leah Hardy, Lonnie Platt, Carrie Bryant


Division Chairs: Jennifer Hedrick, Shawn Barnes, Mark Gingrich
Sector Chairs: Myra Drummond-Lewis, Tara Arnett, Danny Lachcik, Tyler Bannister

Major Firms

Division Chairs: Matt Williams, Andy Waters, Joe Henderson, David Putnam, Kit Stolen

Public Service

Division Chairs: Stephen Gaither, Robyn Kauffman, Nick Foster
Sector Chairs: Kelly Wulf, Becky Markt, Steve Smith, Phil Ashley, Billy Polansky, Steve Hollis, Kelly Wallis, Damian Dean

Health Care

Division Chairs: Rick Royer, Wendy Wiederhold, Brian Whorley, Jim Sinek
Sector Chair: Robin Blount

Construction & Industry

Division Chairs: Jaime Palmer, Ryan Bross, Stan Gerling, Mary Ropp
Sector Chairs: Cari Nichols, Caitlin Campbell, Rodney Dixon, Brian Dial, Brad Roling, Cole Mendanhall, Craig Riordan, John Stringer, Jason Knipp, Austin Gaughan, Amanda Jacobs, Cynthia Diaz, Bev Curtis, Lisa Meyer, Alissa Gerke, Allen Curtis, Jim Meyer

Community Business

Division Chairs: Ryan Ellis, Craig Meyer, Bob Steinmetz, Stephanie Weatherford
Sector Chairs: Stephanie Edwards, Lisa Gordon, Kevin Bartolacci, Nancy Traylor, Theresa Fick, Jeff Perkins, Brian Huther, Jonathan Higgins, Nikki Quint, Jormel Burks


Division Chairs: Eric Morrison, Mike Trammell, Tana Hagen, Jim Howard
Sector Chairs: Suzie Naeger, Wes Parks, Krissi Winningham, Brian Myers, Holly Curtis, Adam Smith, Rebecca Knipp, Danny Maier, Nathan Jones, Casey Elliot, Drew Schauffler

New Business Development

Division Chairs: Jim Owen, Joe Miller, Kat Cunningham, Ed Scavone, Jessie Yankee
Sector Chairs: Geoff Karr, Joe Ritter, Paige Harper

University of Missouri

Campaign Tri-Chairs: Tim Hickman, Colleen Lamond, Matt Waterman
Sector Chairs: Sonya Nistendirk, Rafael Gely, Brian Garten, Joy Millard, Kim Foley, Tracy Feller, Dennis Gagnon, Michelle Haddock, Cathie Giles, Natalie Taylor, Anita Cowan, Ted Brandt, Janet Waibel, Lynda Kraxberger, Brandon Guffey, Adam Kiel, Dale Fitch, Janice Seagraves, Tom Rose

Leadership Circle

Division Chairs: Bill Hervey, Judy Starr, Les Borgmeyer, Nancy Allison
Sector Chairs: Jay Alexander, Mary Wilkerson, Marty Wohlgemuth

Alexis de Tocqueville Society

Division Chairs: Mike Messer, Jane Swaney


Division Chairs: David Holtgraewe
Sector Chairs: Stephen Gaither, Paul Kurzejeski, Brenda Haslag

Thank you to this huge group of dedicated United Way volunteers! Stay tuned for updates as we get closer to the 2017 Community Campaign kickoff in September!


Get our newsletter!